Man on Bus

 

Bus man final

With my final image, I wanted to convey the importance of truthful and ethical news on everyday individuals, which is an important part of the Walkley Foundation’s mission. For this image, the setting of the bus was chosen as catching the bus is something that millions of people do each day, representing how news has a strong influence in the lives of everyday Australians. The background was also more abstract than the original background, something that Margolin, Manor and Tal argue brings the salient point (the newspaper) into greater focus (Margolin, Zelnik-Manor, & Tal 2012).

Like the previous image, the use of the man’s gaze onto the newspaper acts as a natural salience point to the paper, putting the focus of the image on the paper itself (Kress & van Leeuwen 1996). However, the man is reading an open newspaper, representing how ordinary people should be diving deeper into news issues to gain a deeper understanding of the world.

border.png

I explored the idea of having framing around the images. I thought that this would further separate the two ‘alternative newspapers’ and create a better distinction. However, my classmates informed me that it made my image more clunky, something that I agreed with. The distinction between the two images is still clear without the framing, but the image itself blends a lot more seamlessly.

I took a photo of the bus seat on my local bus for this image.

Leave a comment